Summoning Chaos

img_1784.jpgIt’s Thursday evening and since Monday I have been working along on reorganizing my office. Monday or forever – I forget which. I was space-deprived for quite a number of years and having a room of my own is a puzzling new reality. I don’t even know what to call it…’office’ sounds so…productive. Not reflective enough.

Here’s Lyla, hiding out under my prayer desk.

I was promising myself the diversion of writing along on my blog as I worked along on organizing, but something I did early in the process took me off line. Also, I had planned to take evocative pictures of the chaos to share with my readers (both of you) but the ambient chaos includes the camera upload USB thingie. Here’s a good shot of the chaos – uploaded retrospectively when the USB thingie surfaced.

img_1782.jpg

I am being careful this time – for the first time – to get pictures up on the wall while I can still reach the wall. Looking at the pictures I’ve chosen to go in this room I’ve finally figured out what they have in common – these are my archetypes. Roger de Trumpington stands in for the Warrior, Saint Jerome for the Scholar, an Inuit dance troupe for the Dancer, Ruth Tietjen Councell’s Mom’s Apple Pie for the Crone, two Madonnas for the Mother. A photograph of a Hopi storyteller-grandmother image for the Storyteller. There are a few missing, of course, but it’s all very companionable – I’m surrounded by pictures of myself.

The weather is cooperating – icy, windy, slick, snowy. Yesterday I ventured out to buy a plant for my desk, but apart from that I’ve mostly been right here, moving bookcases, sorting books and so forth. I’ve lost the TV remote (chaos again!) so there are few distractions from the task. You know, when they reorganize rooms on TV it only takes about half an hour. Go figure.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summoning Chaos

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Tina Russell

Leave a Reply

